Saturday, September 26, 2009

Notes on Our Album

Below is the list of tracks on our new CD followed by the artists whose old recordings influenced our own versions:

1. Greenback Dollar
Weems String Band.

2. Ain’t That Trouble In Mind
Frank Blevins & His Tar Heel Rattlers (From “The Lost Provinces” album), The Allen Brothers.

3. Bonaparte’s Retreat
W.M. Stepp.

4. Rolling Mills
George Landers from the “High Atmosphere” album.

5. Rye Whiskey
Tommy Jarrell, Hobart Smith.

6. John Brown’s Dream
Hobart Smith.

7. All Night Long
Burnett and Rutherford.

8. Flying Engine
White County Ramblers from the “Echoes of the Ozarks Vol. 2″ album.
9. You May Leave
The Memphis Jug Band.

10. Frankie
Leadbelly, Mississippi John Hurt, Dykes Magic City Trio.

11. Cumberland Gap
Spencer Moore, The Skillet Lickers.

12. Diamond Joe
The Georgia Crackers.

13. Jailbird Love Song
The Mississippi Sheiks.

14. Molly Put the Kettle On
The Skillet Lickers.

15. The Coo Coo
Our own version, influenced by John Snipes, Dink Roberts and Rufus Casey from the Black Banjo Songsters of North Carolina and Virginia album

16. Bed Bug Blues
Bessie Smith, Lonnie Johnson, Ramblin’ Jack.

17. Run Molly Run
Henry Thomas.

18. Sally Johnson
Eck Robertson.

19. Willie Moore
Burnett and Rutherford.

20. Old Blue
Jim Jackson, Dink Roberts.

No comments:

Post a Comment